December 22, 2014

Our #SeasonsReadings

Find out which books are as part and parcel of our fellow Penguin’s Christmases as mince pies and Mariah Carey and what they’ll be curling up with by the fire with this year, with their #SeasonsReadings.

The Snowman- Raymond Briggs

My favourite book to read over the festive season is The Snowman by Raymond Briggs, which I read every year, officially marking the start of my Christmas.– Holly Tonks, Editorial Assistant

 

 

The Great GatsbyI often re-read old favourites at Christmas; The Great Gatsby is one book I revisit time and time again.- Elizabeth Fremantle, author of Queen’s Gambit.

 

 

Delia's Happy ChristmasDelia’s Happy Christmas gets taken off the shelf and opened every year and then I feel faint at the thought of making my own mincemeat and trot off to buy a jar and then I can’t face making the pastry and go back later for the pies themselves…- Catherine Alliott, author of My Husband Next Door.

 

How to be BothI’m longing to finish How to be Both by Ali Smith this Christmas. Sitting down and reading it will be a present to me when the edits on my next book are finished. I started it whilst in the Penguin reception area and I was instantly captured. Ali Smith’s playful prose will be perfect holiday reading.- Jane Shemilt, author of Daughter.

 

Christmas with Billy and Me

I’m looking forward to reading Giovanna Fletcher’s Christmas with Billy and Me this year to get me in the festive spirit.- Katie Sheldrake, Publicity Manager, Michael Joseph. 

 

 

The MinaturistIn my house at Christmas it can be difficult to find time to read as much of my time is spent explaining to elderly relatives that while the Penguins in Happy Feet are not actually real, I agree they are very clever. However when not shattering illusions, I do try and fit in a Nancy Mitford every year and this season I think I might return to The Pursuit of Love. Mitford’s books at this stage are like old friends, and like all great friends, they never lose their charm and humour. The other book I have to get to this year is The Miniaturist. Everyone I know who has read it, has loved it. And given my chronic FOMO, it’s high time I joined the club.- Vincent Kelleher, Digital Marketing and Publishing Manager, Cornerstone.

Little WomenI’ll be reading Little Women – it starts and ends at Christmas so is guaranteed to give me the festive feel-good factor and I never get bored of it, no matter how many times I read it!- Kimberley Atkins, Marketing Manager, Michael Joseph.

 

 

The Handmaid's TaleChristmas is the time for me to re-read any of my favourite authors,  – Margaret Atwood is always high on the list so I’ll be reading The Handmaid’s Tale again.- Lydia Good, Editorial Assistant, Michael Joseph.

 

 

Diary of a Wimpy Kid box of booksI’m planning to sit down with my 8-year-old nephew for a marathon readathon of all the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books so far this Christmas – they’re so quick to read, hilariously funny and a great way to keep him out from under the feet of Granny while she wrestles with the turkey and brussels sprouts!- Julia Teece, Marketing Manager, Penguin Random House Childrens.

 

Perfidia- James EllroyMy reading pile keeps growing, but I normally read something enormous over the Christmas break, as it’s the only time of year that a lack of submissions allows for total immersion… last year it was The Luminaries and the year before Wolf Hall, so perhaps James Ellroy’s new epic, Perfidia or (finally!) The Goldfinch. Other books I have cued up and waiting: Us by David Nichols; H is for Hawk by Helen McDonald and The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan. I usually end up re-reading a favourite Dickens, who somehow feels right for winter.- Sarah Rigby, Senior Editor, Hutchinson.

 

Yes PleaseI love the Christmas break as it means there is finally time to read all the great books my friends have been raving about but I haven’t yet found the time to get a look in! Top of the list for this year is David Nichols’ Us, We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler and because she’s just brilliant, Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please. I’ll also be taking The Very Pointless Quiz Book by Alexander Armstrong and Richard Osman to bring out the competitive nature of my family on Christmas Day!- Francesca Pathak, Assistant Editor, Century.

Is Christmas a time for re-reading the Classics, or for delving into something new for you? Let us know on the @PenguinUKBooks Twitter.

Find out what some very special Penguins are going to be reading this Christmas on the Penguin Books YouTube. 

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. For me, Christmas reading is all about nostalgia, books that make coming home for Christmas all the more real! Plus, heads up, books that you know well add as the best get away from, you know, everyone around you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Authors, Recommends, Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , ,