Despite being 200 years old today, the story of Pride and Prejudice resonates as strongly as it ever did. To those who believe that love will prevail, the love affair between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy has become an archetype for everything a romance could be. To mark the anniversary, here are some classic covers of Jane Austen’s most famous work.

C1 p&p 1938 517
1938

 

P&p EL72 1972  519
1972

 

P&p 043 72 1986   520
1986

 

P&p 1995 02 3821 518
1995

 

Pride and Prejudice [Penguin Classics] [2006]
2006

 

Pride and Prejudice [Penguin Classics] [2008]
2008

 

Pride and Prejudice [Classics Deluxe edition] [2009]
2009

 

Pride and Prejudice [Penguin Classics] [2012] 2
2012

 

Pride and Prejudice [Penguin Classics] [2012] 3
2012

 

Pride and Prejudice [Penguin Classics] [2012]
2012

 

Join the conversation! 22 Comments

  1. The 1972 one is the one for me. Not that I think it is the best or most appealing design but because I had that one as part of a complete set from my MUm and Dad as my 18th birthday present. I still have them, though as they are all well thumbed they won’t all fit into the box. I know the story doesn’t change but the cover makes it feel even more familiar.

    Reply
  2. In my opinion, I prefer the first of 2008 and the last of 2012.
    I would like to have them but I don’t know if it’s possible to buy them today…

    Reply
  3. It’s a little worrying how many of these I own!

    Reply
  4. I have the 1972 edition … I hated it so much I failed my O Level English Lit. The loathing didn’t last though and l now own 1972 and the gorgeous 2008 hardback. And have a degree in English and an MA on the way! Funny how things turn out.

    Reply
  5. The 1972 one is the one we had at school and I think I still have a copy (that I almost certainly should have returned to school) on my shelves. We actually studied Mansfield Park, but I borrowed all the rest and read them again and again. Pride and Prejudice is my favourite and I think I’ve probably read it at least 30 times and watched the BBC series 5 or 6 times and even the Keira Knightly film a few times (it grew on me, after almost walking out of the cinema the first time I saw it!).

    Reply
  6. The 2012 ‘Penguin English Library’ cover is absolutely beautiful !

    Reply
  7. It’s my first, imported book in English, though it’s not by Punguin Books.

    Reply
  8. Don’t you know that a penguin protects his/her eggs 24/7? What an unconditional love portrayed by the penguins. They shift if one will get tired until such time it will hatch.

    Reply
  9. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen is good to read with. Moral lessons and applicable ones are helpful.

    Reply
  10. Maybe you have never really understand my existence.

    Reply
  11. I think the 2006 one is my favourite. 🙂

    Reply
  12. However, you should exercise some amount of caution when looking for a used Porsche dealer . There are instances when the cars listed are not actually the ones that are meant for sale.

    Reply
  13. The 1938 cover has a certain appeal, it makes me want to pick it up.
    The television series tie in definitely looks the odd one out.

    Reply
  14. Vannak különböző álláshelyet megléte mellett ez, azt hiszem, ott figyelembe hivatkozni lehetne tapasztalat tette ezt a helyet vagy a tárgy nagyon informatív. Gyakorlati cél kifejezés tetszik a rossz minőségű. Egyszerűen tudom mondani, hogy az itt megadott adatai egyedülálló volt, csupán a valóban még inkább közel teljes, támogatja a korábbi információkat kap már valóban jó. A pontok már megérintett az itt felsorolt ​​alapvető fontosságú, ezért hadd helyszínen számos információt itt építeni ezt a valóban nagyszerű teljesen az újszülött van itt. Nagyon köszönöm ezt az információt . Igazából hasznos!

    Reply
  15. tiel bela article.i rekomendos al miaj amikoj.

    Reply
  16. I don’t want to judge you but I think that you need to do a little bit more research on the matter

    Reply
  17. We actually studied Mansfield Park, but I borrowed all the rest and read them again and again. Pride and Prejudice is my favourite and I think I’ve probably read it at least 30 times and watched the BBC series 5 or 6 times

    Reply
  18. Obviously, one of the great classics written. It’s been 200 years and yet it is still love by the readers of our time. A timeless work of art in literature indeed.

    Reply
  19. A treat to the eyes and memory, I love the two covers of 1995 and 2009.

    Reply
  20. Great delivery. Great arguments. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  21. Among women, the much more serious side final results include hirsutism and deepening of voice where the voice develops a typical sort of hoarseness. Second cell: Well I heard it was good for when you’re feeling bloated, so I thought what harm could it do. It is bent with the assist of usual ingredient and can enlarge the power force noticeably.

    Reply
  22. Hello, I think your blog may be having web browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, fantastic site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Classics