September 26, 2012

As scene on screen

O for a Muse of fire, that would ascend
The brightest heaven of invention,
A kingdom for a stage, princes to act
And monarchs to behold the swelling scene!

If you missed out on a trip to Shakespeare’s ‘wooden O’ this summer, you’ll be pleased to learn that its unique swelling scenes can now be yours to behold from the comfort of your local cinema, as the brand new Globe on Screen season begins this week. Cinemas across the UK, Australia, New Zealand and America will be screening three plays originally staged at the Globe during 'The Word is God' 2011 theatre season, including All’s Well That Ends Well, Much Ado About Nothing, and Doctor Faustus. Last week, the Penguin Classics team was treated to a sneak preview of some of the upcoming shows and how they’ll look on screen.

 

We spent a fascinating hour discussing the uniqueness of the Globe experience with some of the actors, directors and the team at the Globe, and the fantastic opportunity this new season represents for a new worldwide audience to get a taste of that magic usually contained to a sunny (or not so) spot on London’s Bankside. Ross MacGibbon, Screen Director of The Taming of the Shrew – which was recently filmed for a future Globe on Screen season -  talked us through the long, careful process of editing and fine-tuning that takes place after the plays are recorded live, and Charles Edwards, who played Benedick in Much Ado About Nothing (which begins showing in UK cinemas on 10th October) admitted to being a little nervous but ultimately excited to see how his performance would translate to the big screen. We also discussed with that play’s director, Jeremy Herrin, the potentially discomfiting idea of a theatrical experience, usually such an intimate, singular moment in time, being immortalized forever on film and broadcast around the world – it’s this frisson and conversation between a live and mutable thing, a play, and something recorded, a film, that makes this season so brave and exciting.

The sea9781846146756Lson is the perfect compliment to another tribute to Shakespeare’s time and experience currently gracing London – the wonderful new British Museum exhibition ‘Shakespeare: Staging the World’.

Like the Globe on Screen season, this exhibition celebrates the pivotal role of the playhouse as a window to the world, and offers a unique view of London as it was around 400 years ago. And we can’t recommend the beautiful accompanying book highly enough: Shakespeare's Restless World (out this week).

All’s Well That Ends Well kicks off the Globe on Screen season on September 26, and you can find your nearest venue here: onscreen.shakespearesglobe.com.

 

 

Rose Goddard
Classics Editorial

 

…………………………………………………………………..

Remember that by posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use. If you consider any content on this site to be inappropriate, please report it to Penguin Books by emailing reportabuse@penguin.co.uk

……………………………………………………………………

Join the conversation! 21 Comments

  1. O for a cinema near me, that would ascend
    The brightest heaven……

    Reply
  2. Often an inexpensive introductory course is offered only to get you started.

    Reply
  3. This is all very new to me and this article really opened my eyes.Thanks for sharing with us your wisdom.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for sharing with us your wisdom.

    Reply
  5. the potentially discomfiting idea of a theatrical experience, usually such an intimate, singular moment in time,

    Reply
  6. Beautiful!!! Love how you went with the leopard pumps!

    Reply
  7. Outfielder Jai Miller, making his second start for Oakland

    Reply
  8. the potentially discomfiting idea of a theatrical experience, usually such an intimate, singular moment in time,

    Reply
  9. I used to be able to find good advice from your blog posts.

    Reply
  10. I visited multiple web pages but the audio feature for audio songs current at this web site is truly excellent.

    Reply
  11. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    Reply
  12. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Cheers!

    Reply
  13. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

    Reply
  14. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who haad been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch simply because I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this issue here on your site.

    Reply
  15. I’m not sure why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

    Reply
  16. Good day! I know this is somewhat ooff topic but I was wondering if you knew where Icould locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  17. I do not drop a lot of comments, however i did a few searching and wound up herte The Penguin Blog: As scene on screen. And I do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it only me or dows it look like some of the responses appear as if they are written by brain dead visitors? : -P And, if youu are posting on additional places, I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Could you make a list of all of all your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Reply
  18. Link exchange is nothing else except it is only placing the other person’s webpage link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do same in support of you.

    Reply
  19. Magnificent web site. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks in your sweat!

    Reply
  20. My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site. He used to be entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    Reply
  21. Undeniably consider that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest factor to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed at the same time as other folks think about issues that they just do not realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as well as outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects , other people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , ,