I never thought I’d say that a Dickens novel was too short, but: Dickens, Hard Times is too short! You have disappointed me. The eleventh book in our epic quest to read all his novels, it felt like a mere pamphlet at 288 pages, and I missed the richness and depth of other works.

There are still many joys, especially the self-made businessman Mr Bounderby, who says all the things piggy rich tax-dodgers come out with today: I’ve made it all by myself, why can’t everyone else? Why do all my selfish workers want to be ‘fed on turtle soup and venison, with a gold spoon’? Etc etc. The fact-obsessed school owner Gradgrind was a pertinent reminder of what happens when education becomes micro-managed; the lisping circus master Sleary was a pleasure; the put-upon weaver Stephen Blackpool (with his scarily accurate alcoholic wife) broke my heart and, in fact, the lack of happy endings all round made the novel a surprising change from the norm. There was so much here, but I felt a frustrating lack of development of ideas and characters.

Luckily, Charles Dickens read my mind and made his next novel, Little Dorrit, a far more sensible 860 pages. Here are more thoughts:

‘It's never a great idea to publish a book with 'Hard' in the title. I thought I'd be in for a boring read, but my long held assumptions were wrong; it's a great story and if anything it's over far too quickly. Even the setting, grimy old Coketown, potentially quite oppressive, is described with Dickens usual energy and wit so that you can hear the rattling of the looms and taste the coal dust. My favourite character is probably Merrylegs the circus dog. To summarise this novel: Down with equations! Hurrah for horseback balancing tricks! Worth reading if you are a busy professional who does not have time to tackle any of Dickens's 900 page-ers.’ Becky

Hard Times is so very much shorter than most of the other Dickens books we've read (110k to Copperfield's 382k), and it surprised me now much I noticed and mourned that brevity. This Dickens felt much more like a short story, with characters lightly sketched rather than fully drawn, and with now-familiar archetypes populating the grim scenes of a northern industrial town, Coketown. Really, Dickens, it was too short, and I could tell that you'd just bashed this one out. C- for effort. Having said all that, of course his weakest efforts are, still, leagues ahead of most other novels. And as ever, the dialogue is a masterclass in dialect and character, the children and villains are utterly believable and the family relations are all so recognisable. Plus it's got a charming circus ringmaster with a lisp! And one of the most blackly comic family reunions I have ever, ever read. So, considering its shortness and its almost comically bleak ending, I give Hard Times a better-than-The-Old-Curiosity-Shop 6.9/10.’  Sam

Louise Willder, Copywriter

Join the conversation! 29 Comments

  1. Na het wassen een gezicht, aanraking met de vinger Sommige van fijn zout aan beide kanten in de punt en Masseer zachtjes, en dan afspoelen met water en mee-eters en acne schoon zal zijn, zal aussi porie en kleiner zijn.
    http://www.sneakers-isabelmarant.nl
    http://www.dsquared-online.nl

    Reply
  2. Side Massage Behandeling Cdn verstopte neus, een verstopte neus links naar rechts te gaan liggen, liggen op de neus van rechts naar links, gebruik wijsvinger en middelvinger kneed een neus, heeft de brug van de neus massage aan beide zijden Maak kennis met zoete acupunctuurpunten 1-2 minuten, verstopte Elimineer CDN.
    http://www.sneakers-isabelmarant.nl
    http://www.dsquared-online.nl

    Reply
  3. Good article is brought to share, see good article can always mood letting a person is cheerful, let oneself happy also to widen my view, to the thing understanding also have more understanding.

    Reply
  4. Such a fun post! Thanks so much for sharing.

    Reply
  5. Teeth whitening can assist reverse the effects of aging and generate a dramatic difference in the way you appear to others and the way you feel about oneself.

    Reply
  6. Tack för trevlig blogg. Det var väldigt nyttigt för mig. Håll dela sådana idéer i framtiden. Detta var faktiskt vad jag letade efter, och jag är glad att kom hit! Tack för att dela sådan information med oss.

    Reply
  7. Dickens is a Vatican novel! I love how he twists every story. It’s worth reading.

    Reply
  8. Well you can say like that but I think the main cause is you liked it so much that’s why you think it is short and should be more lengthy. This reminds me the same feeling which happens with me just a few days earlier. I watched a movie and that was so close to my life that I was fascinated and hope to see more good dialogues and story there in the movie. But fortuneteller it was end

    Reply
  9. Hard Times is one of those books that I’ve never managed to like – I think it’s by far Dickens’ worst, and I just find it utterly unconvincing. I enjoyed reading your post though, as it’s always interesting to see what other people enjoyed about a book I dislike!

    Reply
  10. Teeth whitening can assist reverse the effects of aging and generate a dramatic difference in the way you appear to others and the way you feel about oneself.

    Reply
  11. Dickens is the Vatican novel! I love him how to turn every story. It is worth reading.

    Reply
  12. One cannot be strong without love. For love is not an irrelevant emotion; it is the blood of life, the power of reunion of the separated.

    Reply
  13. Hard Times is one of those books that I’ve never managed to like – I think it’s by far Dickens’ worst, and I just find it utterly unconvincing. I enjoyed reading your post though, as it’s always interesting to see what other people enjoyed about a book I dislike!

    Reply
  14. Good article is brought to share, see good article can always mood letting a person is cheerful, let oneself happy also to widen my view, to the thing understanding also have more understanding.

    Reply
  15. goldThe color of the shell in the bud pregnant with a lively silver liquid. Carrot lines are fluid and graceful, beautiful arc PanA circle of golden light. Light long or short.

    Reply
  16. cute!!! I’ve been contemplating cutting my hair short again but have chickened out. Your new cut looks faboooo!

    Reply
  17. I am a great fan of Dickens because of its wonderful works but with the Hard Times, I agree that it’s too short! Anyways, I still love reading it.

    Reply
  18. You can say so, but I think the main reason is that you like to eat, this is why you think it is short, should be more long. This reminds me of the same feeling and I happened a few days ago. I saw a movie, that is my life so close, I am very interested, and I hope to see more good dialogue and the story of the movie. But fortune teller is the end

    Reply
  19. I love this blog. I find hard time visiting sites that could actually inform me regarding this information. Glad that i found it here. I do have my reporting earlier this week. And probably i could use this a s my reference.

    Reply
  20. Hard times is a book, I have never tried to like, I think this is by far the worst, dickens I will find it not convincing. I like to read your article though, because it’s always interesting to see other people like a book I don’t like!

    Reply
  21. Yesterday at noon, the people on the siteAnd they all go to dinner, the blacksmith master of a small hammer and a new quenching bucket had been stolen.

    Reply
  22. Well, gentlemen, I shall be the third parish priest

    Reply
  23. Happiness only in others stepped flat road before they find.” the emperor majesty increase the uneasy patriotic fervor eventually engulfed

    Reply
  24. In the event that we are able to just experience one another instead of remain with one another, i quickly desire we’d in no way experienced.

    Reply
  25. You will find absolutely no paths from the wings within the skies, as the parrots offers flied aside.

    Reply
  26. Only if the eye happen to be cleaned through holes, may we now have the wider area associated with eyesight.

    Reply
  27. You are great! I don’t think I read something like this before. Find a good some original thoughts on this subject. Thank you very much from this.

    Reply
  28. Into the Galaxy, peaceful and moon with to illuminate long days; did into the wilderness, smiling breeze force dyed green earth,
    It’s only to treat life and live for Love.

    Reply
  29. Hi there this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized